new (noob) perspective

Hi all, I've been enjoying these discussions and decided to put my two zerps in :) Like many, the cryptos jumped onto my radar recently, and as I did my homework, they began to make sense to me for the first time. Easy to dip my toes in and buy a little on Coinbase, but as I studied, XRP began to make more sense to me. As a noob, I had to leave my comfort zone to get off Coinbase and take the next step and buy some BTC, go to an exchange and trade for XRP. I have a feeling that there are many more than me that have yet to take that step.

That being said, I did a little maths and was thinking, well, when all the coins are in play, 100 billion XRP and 21 million BTC, there will be 4,761 XRP to each BTC. if the prices were at parity, and say BTC is $3,,000 per, then $3,000/ 4761= $.63 all things being equal. And most of us think that XRP has a much better use case, so should eventually have more value, no? I'm not sure I got enough zeros in my billion lol, does anyone else care to speculate? I'm buying as much as I can hold btw...

@GiddyUp Hey - welcome to the forum! Great you did the research- and ended up here. Not sure where you are located, but you can buy XRP directly vs USD or EUR via exchanges like Bitstamp and Kraken (and hopefully Coinbase soon). 

Just to match Bitcoin's current marketcap, XRP would need to go to~$1.15 

And I have the same view as you..XRP should not only match, but exceed Bitcoin, given the institutional angle and clear (and unbelievably decent sized) usecase. 

I did a writeup some time ago, incl valuation scenarios, in case you care:

16 minutes ago, thunderw said:

@GiddyUp I think you will be fine. Just put it into cold wallet and do something like educating others, spread the news on XRP etc.

I learned that the biggest gains come from researching and then patiently holding, not trading or any shady ICO trades. 

agreed.

34 minutes ago, GiddyUp said: