edge

Is Ripple prepared for quantum computer attacks?

With ever increasing achievements towards a fully usable quantum computer by so many nations, is there a plan in place to secure against quantum computers (if not done already)?
@JoelKatz it would be great if you could give us your insights in this matter. Cheers!

Edited by edge

Yeah I doubt there are any real quantum computers out yet, and even if they were I'd doubt they'd be able to run perfectly let alone send out an attack. Maybe in the next 5 - 10 years

Thanks for all the replies. I'm still quite new to blockchain  technologies.

I was curious about this since I'm looking at Ripple/XRP and the rest of cryptos in long term. And yes, probably they are quite a few years away, but we will probably never know when the first one will become fully operational and in whose hands it will be, better safe than sorry. Same as with general purpose AI.

Edited by edge

4 hours ago, Sukrim said:

Dwave systems are great for quantum annealing (they are used for https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adiabatic_quantum_computation), but not for crypto work. They are a special class of quantum computers, not the "general" type people are looking forward to.

Yes, but for how long, since everything can be tailored to specific needs. Few years ago it wasn't so essential for them to concentrate the project on crypto currencies. With this massive hype (perhaps earlier), no doubt they are looking into it.

1 hour ago, edge said:

Yes, but for how long, since everything can be tailored to specific needs. Few years ago it wasn't so essential for them to concentrate the project on crypto currencies. With this massive hype (perhaps earlier), no doubt they are looking into it.