leobel

Why Ripple (the company) typically discourages issuers from trusting one another directly?

Posted (edited)

Hi. Recently I started learning about XRP ledger and reading the documentation I found this line from the Default Paths section:

Ripple (the company) typically discourages issuers from trusting one another directly

I'd like to someone explain me the reason behind this statement. I guess that if a gateway A (an issuer) wants to get access to the on demand liquidity that other gateways (supposing they allow ripple) could provide, there are two options to accomplish that.

1. Create trust lines directly to those gateways.
  2. Wait until an account create trust lines (maybe indirectly through an offer) with those gateways and with gateway A.

It seems to me options 2 is out of gateways A control since it cannot force other accounts (I'm thinking about customers from the gateway A perspective) to create trust lines with other gateways and the better they can do is provide a sort of list of gateways for the accounts to choose from, but it'll be a more complex and extra step process. Also if the account decide to (or have) disable ripple, you won't get access to the other gateway on demand liquidity right? 

Maybe there are more ways to get access to other market on demand liquidity and I'm not seen it? 

Edited by leobel

6 hours ago, leobel said:

Hi. Recently I started learning about XRP ledger and reading the documentation I found this line from the Default Paths section:

I'd like to someone explain me the reason behind this statement. I guess that if a gateway A (an issuer) wants to get access to the on demand liquidity that other gateways (supposing they allow ripple) could provide, there are two options to accomplish that.

1. Create trust lines directly to those gateways.
  2. Wait until an account create trust lines (maybe indirectly through an offer) with those gateways and with gateway A.