I’ve been posting here for about two years, give or take.  I’ve never been one for spreading fud or concern trolling but I’ve had my doubts and asked questions from time to time.  I bring this up preemptively because I just have new concerns about Libra and I’m genuinely just looking for an answer (answers?) without wasting time fending off attacks for my motives.  Most of the community here has always been informative and gracious in their responses in the past but I know how doubt can also been seen as intentional subversion.

Very recently a number of high profile companies have dropped out of the Libra project.  Good.  I assumed it would put to rest the latest ‘xrp killer’ idea as the project seems to be DOA.  However, there have been other recent developments that still make me question the overall picture.

- The head of Calibra was onstage with the IMF and Mark Carney recently.  I know BoE is assumed to be tied to Ripple, but Carney apparently spoke very highly of Libra.

- US Congressmen have attacked the Libra project but recently a sitting Senator offered encouragement for the project.

- The founder of Foxconn expressed support for Libra and floated the idea of connecting Libra to the new Chinese coin in Taiwan to link up a new global system.

- Brad Garlinghouse has been attacking or at least deriding Libra recently in his public appearances.  This could just be confidence on his part, but people often attack the things they’re afraid of.

That’s not to say everything is going Libra’s way, obviously not.  France’s financial minister has said that Libra is not welcome in Europe and we have the aforementioned (huge) defections from the project.  The general public has a revulsion to allowing Facebook to have access to even more of their lives.  However, Libra still pushes forward.