Picard78

XRP Supply limited by Owner Reserve

Hello XRP Community,

This is my first post.  I was going over the XRP API documentation and discovered the Owner Reserve which is currently 5 XRP.  Isn't this feature of XRP one reason that will limit XRP Supply once mass adoption occurs?  Suppose I'm a Broker or Market Maker and I am required to have 5 XRP Owner Reserve for each Offer (limit BID and limit ASK that I place on the XRP Ledger which is not immediately consumed).   Suppose I want the capacity to have up to 1 Million limit Offers in the XRP Ledger.  Hence, I will always maintain a 5 million XRP reserve so my Offers never become flagged us Unfunded.

As the Price of XRP increases the Base Reserve and Owner Reserve will be reduced, but the Owner Reserve is an important consideration to hold and accumulate XRP if I plan to be a significant future Broker or Market Maker on the XRP ledger.

Am I understanding Owner Reserve correctly and how it encourages holding some XRP to be part of the XRP ecosystem?

Thank you

7 hours ago, Picard78 said:

Am I understanding Owner Reserve correctly and how it encourages holding some XRP to be part of the XRP ecosystem?

No sorry you appear to have that incorrect. 

The owner Reserve is per Account.  Not per offer.  

So every XRP wallet address secured by a key is inactive until someone sends at least the owner reserve into that wallet (actually an Account).  

After that the wallet can send XRP out so long as it leaves at least the Reserve amount (20 XRP) in as the wallet Reserve.

The reason it exists is to stop a malicious actor from spamming the XRPLedger with Account Create transactions.  If there was no Reserve amount they could flood the network with those transactions.   

Tinyaccount, what you are referring to is the Base Reserve.  There are two reserves; Account Base Reserve (20 XRP) and Object Owner Reserve (5 XRP).

https://xrpl.org/reserves.html