retryW

Down the xRabbit Hole

Great Job. And thanks for uploading some of your queries to pastebin. I still haven't got around to trying bigquery - but having examples to use might be an incentive to get started.

If you've made it this far, I thank you for having the patience to make it through this horrible mess that is my train of thought during research.

You have my sympathies. It is tedious work going through the transactions and looking for anything interesting.

Couple of questions : Do you know if it is possible to script queries using python in bigquery? I am unfortunately a C++ programmer by trade and have some limited python skills, but not really done any database work, so I find SQL to be somewhat painful. Can one extract subsets of data from the database and import them into pandas for example and then use python to do plotting and analysis? (either locally or on the google servers) - I'm very much interested in the overall xRapid volume (not so much in the individual transactions), so being able to extract interesting data and download it locally would be handy. Any tutorial for this kind of thing would be helpful if you discovered any good ones during your learning phase.

Thanks for showing us your results. Still very early in the game and not so much interesting statistics to see yet, but hopefully soon...

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, jbjnr said:

Great Job. And thanks for uploading some of your queries to pastebin. I still haven't got around to trying bigquery - but having examples to use might be an incentive to get started.

Thanks for showing us your results. Still very early in the game and not so much interesting statistics to see yet, but hopefully soon...

Thanks, I very much appreciate it!  And you're most welcome; I thought it would be good to share the queries I used so that others would have a place to start, as well as to backup my data so you knew it wasn't out of thin air.

4 hours ago, jbjnr said: