xchardp

Questions about using Bithomp

Ladies and Gents hello to you all.  I am new here and very excited about the possibilities that lay before us in the near future when it comes to blockchain tech, especially XRP.  I meet so many people that struggle to understand how this is going to set the world on fire, even tech people. 

We have been investigating the different way of storing XRP securely.  I’ve been looking at the various tools on Bithomp, which everyone seems to using for exploring the XRP ledger.  I notice that Bithomp also provide other tools like a wallet generator and the ability to make transactions offline and the creation of a multi signature wallet, which really appeals to me.

I have been working in IT (infrastructure / Networks / Storage / Virtualization) for a long time so I have a good understanding of IT fundamentals however I am not a developer.

I was wondering if any of you would be able to help with some of the questions I’ve got regarding setting up wallets.  I take it that people are happy with their experiences using Bithomp, not just the wallet explorer.

I watched the video on YouTube for creating a Multi Sig wallet (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_S3qT15jss)

•    For signing the wallet I see you need to generate a wallet (pub and sec key) for each signatory.  Does this signatory wallet need any XRP in it?  I’m hoping not as I think a multi sig wallets requires a min of 45 XRP.

•    In the video the developer changes the fee from 12 drops to 1200 drops of XRP for a transaction.  Is this 1200 drops the fee that must be paid for every transaction, for example every time I want to send some money somewhere?  This seems to be set when the wallet is created or is it just the fee paid to create the multi signed wallet.