Sign in to follow this  
peanut56

Eurozone ?

I am an American so I have limited knowledge. I am ignorant on this. I do not mind criticism. I value the opinions of others.

Would the E.U. consider splitting into separate countries as a result of the ease to process cross border payments. The reason I say this is that if each county was allowed to run its own financial system it would allow a more independent E.U. while also allowing the preservation cooperation. Isn't the strength built off of the ease of trade? This could ease any feelings of one loosing their country identity while preserving the strength of the E.U. ?

1 minute ago, Naimless said:

The short answer is no. EU countries do run their own financial systems, they only share the same currency.

And not all have the same currency yet, too.

EDIT: Also, not sure anyone feels he/she is a "EU citizen" like US people do, which is kinda interesting, I guess.

Edited by Kiir

12 minutes ago, peanut56 said:

I am an American so I have limited knowledge. I am ignorant on this. I do not mind criticism. I value the opinions of others.

Would the E.U. consider splitting into separate countries as a result of the ease to process cross border payments. The reason I say this is that if each county was allowed to run its own financial system it would allow a more independent E.U. while also allowing the preservation cooperation. Isn't the strength built off of the ease of trade? This could ease any feelings of one loosing their country identity while preserving the strength of the E.U. ?

Nope, the monetary union and the joint EU currency (EURO), are about the base of the EU. Think easier trading. Also right now each country has its own CB. They exist next to the more centralized ECB (though the CB's have a large say in the ECB's policy). It's a rather delicate balance of power.

Edited by Rey

13 minutes ago, peanut56 said:

giphy.gif

4 minutes ago, Kiir said:

And not all have the same currency yet, too.