Sign in to follow this  
suggestionengine

No Reversible Transactions for Banks?

I have a question about reversible transactions for banks.  Is it true to say that Banks need reversible transactions in case they get hacked?  If their systems are connected up to XRP bought using their xrapid setup, XRP could be bought and sent to an address they do not already trust (the hacker, rather than another bank), how can this be mitigated against?

Obviously being a blockchain the whole point is this is an independent currency where there are no reversible transactions, so does this create risk for a bank?

Thanks looking forward to replies.

Edited by suggestionengine

I'm not an expert but as I understand it...

It's true that an important part of banking is that they may wish to reverse a transaction.  You can't revert a XRapid transaction.  Blockchain is immutable.

But you can reverse the transaction by sending the equivalent amount back the other way.  It's not totally trivial because of fees but Xrapid knows fees in advance so it can be done.

But also you should ask why are we trying to reverse?  One big reason is because of the flakiness of the current system.  That's gone with XRapid so a big percentage of the reason to even try reverting is gone too.

Your question about incorrect address just can't happen.....  The pathfinding is part of the Ripplenet advantage and will only go where trust is established.

So overall....  It can be done but it won't need to be done as often.

thanks for the reply.  

I understand that incorrectly sent money could be sent back in another (very cheap) transaction, providing it had been accidentally sent to someone trustworthy enough to send it back (like another bank) - but the scenario I am wondering about is if the bank was hacked.  The hacker might be able buy some XRP from the banks interfaces and then withdraw it and there would be nothing the bank could do about it.

9 minutes ago, suggestionengine said: