PunishmentOfLuxury

A Fundamental Valuation Framework for Cryptoassets

Interesting.  Having just read through it focusing on XRP I noticed they attempted to valuate the storage demand IF they pull off the cross-border payments and even FX trading use case using todays numbers.  What they missed though was the incredible inertia of Metcalfe's Law and Jevons Paradox.  Not to mention the myriad of other use cases which when you consider the possibilities of Xpring and Coil I'd say have equal or even more value to their current core use case.  I'm no math expert but even if their math is correct they certainly haven't accounted for even close to the complete picture of variables involved.  Also, to place a 75% failure rate on XRP from June of 2018 in my view is overly conservative.  Their upper end estimate of $32 before the 75% discount is wrong in my view for the reasons stated above but I see it more like a 30% chance of failure of gaining widespread adoption of XRP based on my gut and current info.  

"This exercise produces an implied expected value range today for bitcoin of $13,600–28,100 and for XRP of $1.59–8.23 on a probability weighted, present value basis.

These are ranges of expected values; the range of potential realizations is much wider, and in particular, we believe there is a significant probability of a near-zero long-term value for both assets (and the industry more broadly), as well as the potential to realize significantly higher valuations than those reflected in these ranges. Nonetheless, these outcomes provide support to the notion that the price levels reached by major cryptoassets over the last year may prove to be well-founded by the long-term fundamentals of this asset class."

--And add speculative value in the interim and things start to get interesting...

41 minutes ago, XRPboi said: