DTilley

'Short Story Contest Entry' XRP - It really was the community

XRP - It really was the community

*The TV crew just left and after the interviewer was finished she asked me a couple more personal questions and then I realized after answering them that I had never wrote any of this down before, so here goes

July 2028 
Wedding speech - Trevor and Samantha Hexxarpé

Good evening everybody,
Your Mom's and Dad's asked me to "get up and say a few words" tonight because it's "kinda what I do for a living". 
Well, it's not really what I do for a living but it's close enough. I decided to take a different approach. I know you're all shocked right? 

X...R...P  Why xrp you ask? 
Well if it wasn't for the xrp community that both your parents were members of, you guys wouldn't have met.
So, I'm going to use this time to tell you my story. It's not that different than anybody else's here and yes it is too late to change your mind about me doing this.

It started almost 10 years ago. That first bull run caught everybody by surprise. It was great for those of us who were in early and reaped rewards fast. 
It was those earlier days that set the stage for what came after the explosion I am referring to in 2019 and the early 2020's.
I was still new to crypto currencies in general but knew after some research that XRP was the one to focus on. The thing that caught my eye before anything else was seeing the transactions per second against visa and banks and other crypto currencies.

I thought of Amazoogle and that if they were going to be adding one, it would most likely be XRP.
Then I learned more about the people at Ripple and was warmly welcomed into the community. This is when I first became aware of POTUS Brad Garlinghouse and VP David Schwartz. Believe it or not, the president used to have a beard and fans and admirers would travel from all around just to touch it and take pictures with him. True story