theGlitchKing

Personal Validator / Server

I'm a long time reader, and first time poster.  I'm a data scientist, that designs and runs Big Data architectures all over the world, so I have some solid knowledge of technology, though the engineering components to Block chain are still somewhat of a mystery to me. 

I just wanted to ask if there would be some advantage to setting up a validator in AWS that i'm not seeing? 

Let's say the cost is 300 /mo for the machine to run the validator software.  

How does that impact RippleNet (pros/cons) 

Is there an advantage to an individual doing it, as opposed to an enterprise? 

I know there's no mining component to Ripple, but Connectivity, and exposure seems to be something that's lacking for Ripple. I also know (at least I think I do)  that adding a validator to RippleNet may impact TPS positively, though I don't know if that's something worth the expense for an individual to invest 300 /mo. 

With so many lovers of Ripple (me included) I'm wondering if either 1) there's an underground engineering community that does build validators / servers for a distinct purpose. In that case i'm curious as to what that purpose would be, and/or 2) what, if any, incentives are there for an individual to take on a monthly cost to spin up their own validator / server?  Even if that means using python or java on log data to develop something that has been needed for a long time, and would be huge for the Ripple community, but no one has done it yet for whatever reason. 

1) Not very underground, but I run my full history node to have local access to the full ledger history. The difference is for example when querying transactions from a single account from s2.ripple.com taking 20 seconds vs. maybe half a second from my node.