workerX

Spectre / Meltdown

Hi,

I am not an scientist, but what I have seen until now regarding the latest CPU bugs especially the spectre bug this is really scary. 

I think the crypto world will be widely affected very soon. What do you think and how do you protect yourself?

Yep, this could be a big issue. All operating systems have supposedly issued patches to this, but because this is a hardware bug there is a belief that they can't patch this completely. I'm basically a HODLer, so private keys never touch my online computer, but I do a small amount of trading using software wallets. I'm going to be restricting this activity and maybe looking at getting a hardware wallet...something I haven't been inclined to do. I'm not convinced of the security of hardware wallets, either. Face it, crypto is the jungle.

Just now, Trippy said:

Yep, this could be a big issue. All operating systems have supposedly issued patches to this, but because this is a hardware bug there is a belief that they can't patch this completely. I'm basically a HODLer, so private keys never touch my online computer, but I do a small amount of trading using software wallets. I'm going to be restricting this activity and maybe looking at getting a hardware wallet...something I haven't been inclined to do. I'm not convinced of the security of hardware wallets, either. Face it, crypto is the jungle.

Ledger France has assured everyone that their wallets are not affected. 

Just now, Khaleesi said:

Ledger France has assured everyone that their wallets are not affected. 

Based on what I heard of the bug, they can't make this assurance.

32 minutes ago, Khaleesi said:

Take it up with Ledger France then...based on what you heard

https://www.ledger.fr/2018/01/04/meltdown-spectre-attacks-intel-amd-arm-risk/

Sorry, a bit offtopic: there are various claims on this board that holdings disappeared from Nanos. Has anyone ever heard of a confirmed issue when it wasn't due to user error?