Xrphunter

Governments are right to regulate ICOs, says the owner of the third-largest cryptocurrency

I would be interested in having your opinion on the article below.

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/news-blog/2017/oct/09/bitcoin-price-bubble-government-cryptocurrency  

If the Bitcoin bubble were to burst, and the very notion of cryptocurrencies discredited as a result, is there a danger that the Ripple baby would be thrown out with the bathwater?

Forgive me, but i am a newbie, not only to investing in xrp but also this marvellously informative site, and so if my question seems naïve, please feel free to shoot me down in flames.

51 minutes ago, emsemporium said:

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/news-blog/2017/oct/09/bitcoin-price-bubble-government-cryptocurrency  

If the Bitcoin bubble were to burst, and the very notion of cryptocurrencies discredited as a result, is there a danger that the Ripple baby would be thrown out with the bathwater?

Forgive me, but i am a newbie, not only to investing in xrp but also this marvellously informative site, and so if my question seems naïve, please feel free to shoot me down in flames.

I think it will affect a little but i know the team will have a plan.

54 minutes ago, emsemporium said:

I think it depends on the timing of such event.

I believe that currently, it would represent a significant issue for a few reasons (Ripple funding being dependent on XRP to certain extent, volatility driving potential customers away, incentivization of FIs with XRP being less effective, etc.).

I also believe, however, that once Ripple progresses further and hopefully decouples from BTC and also gets some distance from cryptocurrencies as such, it may withstand eventual BTC crush.

If it makes any sense...

58 minutes ago, emsemporium said:

My opinion as a newbie too, if the bubble had to burst, which I think it will, then just one crypto, XRP, would survive. Why? Because it is so different to all the others.