Jump to content

Poloniex Phishing Website


Recommended Posts

I saw a post on Reddit about this and thought I would pass along here.  There is a new phishing website for Poloniex.



Edited by Guest
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Example of Google's poor backgroundchecking of advertisers.

There are more reports of Google ad's like these for different exchanges. Usually only one or a few letters are changed/added.

In some cases popular Antivirus software like AVG automaticly adds a checkmark to the phishing website links, making the problem even worse.

Always carefully check the url and have a look at the SSL certificate when visiting an exchange website.



I can confirm the phishing advertisement is STILL VISIBLE ON GOOGLE.NL, both on desktop and mobile phone.

It points to: <do not visit> POLONLEX . com (note the 'i' of poloniex is actually a L in this phishing url)

The phishing website does have a SSL certificate, but it's signed by "cPanel, Inc." , instead of "GlobalSign nv-sa"

Bad Google! They can use some of their own AI tech for this. It shouldn't be hard to detect advertisements like these.


Edited by edwin90
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...