Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation on 08/21/2019 in all areas

  1. 16 points
    strikerjax

    Forte Blog

    This is from the forte Gaming Blog. They have a few other entries worth checking. https://medium.com/forte-labs-inc/forging-the-future-of-games-3aebbaf6eccd "we’ve collaborated closely with Ripple’s Xpring team on architectural designs for trustlessly hosting software services in a decentralized ecosystem using Codius and facilitating cross-chain transactions using Interledger Protocol (ILP) for interoperability and XRP for inter-asset liquidity, all open source projects. We believe these projects offer a strong foundation for a future we’re excited to help game developers build: where game economies offer multi-directional transactions between parties, greater player agency, minimized counterparty risk, multi-network contract interoperability, and trust-minimized computation." "Initially, we’ll help developers with some of the difficult but essential basics. We’re building a wallet that will be easy to use and integrate with both new and existing games on many platforms and facilitate cross-chain transactions using Interledger. We’re building a container-based hosting solution compatible with the Codius specification for running game-specific chains and flexible, secure, performant computation that rich, engaging games need. We’re building a security-audited smart contract framework and tools to inspect nodes, update contracts, reconcile new data, generate data reports, and mint new chains. We’re securing licenses for regulatory compliant operations in all major markets. We’re offering market-making services to address cold start economic challenges in new game economies. We’re building a white-label marketplace framework with embeddable filter-by-game views. We’re composing these solutions based on a deep evaluation of public blockchains, layer 2 solutions, and off chain computation in combination with our own substantial research and development efforts." The inaugural fund, managed by Forte, is primarily targeting game developers operating live game economies with over 50,000 daily active users Main team members : Kevin Chou founded kabam and sold it for $800 mil, Brett Seyler, GM at Unity Love what Ripple is doing with its investments and building partnerships to fuel XRP usage. In the light of this, I would think the 1 billion investment in Coil would have been very well thought out.
  2. 10 points
    QWE

    Trim the fat

    Also, @Sporticus, this is your quote from April 2018 (I bolded the part that is completely cotradictory to what you are stating in this topic): Can you explain what changed your opinion in this one year?
  3. 9 points
    QWE

    Trim the fat

    @Sporticus, first of all, thank you for your insight, your content has been very valuable so far, albeit a bit anti-Ripple (which is okay, to each their own opinion). I would, however, like to discuss about a few opinios-turned-facts in your statements. Can you provide a source for this statement? As far as I know, there have been no official statements from the SEC, all the articles I find quote William Hinman's remarks: https://www.sec.gov/news/speech/speech-hinman-061418 This was not an official statement by the SEC, as is also indicated in the article itself: "The Securities and Exchange Commission disclaims responsibility for any private publication or statement of any SEC employee or Commissioner. This speech expresses the author’s views and does not necessarily reflect those of the Commission, the Commissioners or other members of the staff." Targeting a $27 trillion market does not mean that the volume must be $27 trillion. In fact, XRP's usecase is to unlock those funds and optimize the process of real time gross settlement. I do agree the volume should eventually be higher, but it should never be $27 trillion. the number $27 trillion is used to demonstrate a problem that exist today, and not to indicate those $27 trillion will flow into XRP or indicate daily volume. If you bought two and a half years ago (or earlier), the returns would have been: ETH: Today: $187.80 2/21/2017 (two and a half years ago): $12.43 Return rate: x15 LTC: Today: $72.65 2/21/2017 (two and a half years ago): $3.77 Return rate: x19 XRP: Today: $0.267 2/21/2017 (two and a half years ago): $0.00587 Return rate: x45 I'm glad you did not sell all your XRP, as it has brought you the greatest return of the 3 digital assets you mentioned in the past 2 and a half years.
  4. 8 points
    iLeeT

    The Big Deal

    How so? Give it time, you don't really think Coil will just print out their 1B XRP address and hang it on the wall, right? It's an additional supply that will inevitable have an impact on the market. It's kinda ridiculous that Wietse, probably the biggest XRPL contributor that is a non-Ripple employee, gets 100k while Coil, a platform with a dodgy business model and barely any users, gets $250M. Given the recent news of Ripple reducing programmatic sales I'd expect some of Coil XRP sale earnings to flow back into Ripple.
  5. 6 points
    I’m going to pass on answering your first post question...but I do like your post! The climb up to $7B in assets under custody makes for a nice visual indicator of the market over time.
  6. 4 points
    Seoulite

    The Big Deal

    This is right. However the customers will want the pay-per-second option, and it only takes a decent competitor to offer that and began to seriously take over the market. I mean the ads write themselves: FADE IN. Young woman asleep in bed in her studio apartment. Above her head is a graphic showing her bank balance slowly draining as seconds go by. Title: You can't watch TV while you sleep, but you're still paying for it. Title: Coil TV Streaming. Pay when you watch. Don't when you don't. OK it's lame but it took me all of 30 seconds to think up. It would very compelling for people looking to pinch the pennies. Of course getting licences from big networks would be the biggest challenge, but not impossible.
  7. 3 points
    mrhat75

    Trim the fat

    This forum always has a few salty people who hate Ripple ideologically or simply bought XRP at higher prices and sold or are holding at a loss. They can't/couldn't handle waiting for the use case to develop, so they have already rationalized in their mind that Ripple will fail in the future so they create all of these reasons (usually unoriginal, blatantly FUD based) as to why their decision that Ripple sucks is right. My 2 zerps Ripple created one of the most elaborate multi billion dollar scams that the world has ever seen, and have managed to hoodwink huge entities such as MoneyGram, SBI, Santander, The Fed, SEC, etc etc for years. THAT is what you have to believe. I'll apply Occam's Razor Who would even do business with 'just xCurrent' if they knew that the company selling the software was doing a bunch of illegal ****?
  8. 3 points
    Sporticus

    Trim the fat

    R Ripple used our money well to protect themselves and has former SEC staff lawyers representing them. They are very cozy with the regulators, they can afford to pay for the best lawyers, in the same manner that Jeffrey Epstein and OJ could afford the best. If you bother to read the list I posted, which is the SEC and a couple of states' positions on tokens, Ripple easily fits within the definition of a security. Ethereum was a security and it segued out of that mode because it stopped selling tokens to fund its platform. Ripple is still selling tokens to fund itself and to fund use cases for XRP and brazenly continues to do so all the while misrepresenting the securities characterization of their issue. The SEC has determined that Bitcoin and Ethereum are not securities, but the number three market cap coin has not had the SEC asserting a position on its securities status and has been conspicuously silent. It has been stated Ripple is the longest running ICO in history. The SEC is political, the courts and juries are not so much. Ripple will simply not be able to dodge securities characterization before a jury and in a court of law. Facts are facts and the law is the law. One of the reasons I am biased against Ripple is because I was skeptical at first, but gradually I believed what Ripple and the other supporters were saying about XRP, and over the past two and a haIf years I discovered it's a massive fraud. There is the claim that there is a use case, and they were targeting a $27 trillion market, which is 27 thousand billion dollars. Today, the volume barely got over a billion and most of that was bots. That is about 1/27,000th market share of their target market. I could go on and on. But I do not have to. I am moving on. I still have some., at one time I had a lot, but the next time it moves up close to my entry, if it does, I am dumping. Had I stayed in litecoin or ethereum I would be at least $2,000,000 ahead of where I am at, even at current prices. Yeah, I am biased, my vote is that they put Garliccottage in a cell with a yard monster who has a peculiar liking to bearded chickens.
  9. 3 points
    dr_ed

    The Big Deal

    Good way to dispose of a billion XRP without moving markets and hurting hodlrs. It's pure genius, from that perspective alone. And I keep intending to start a new blog on Coil. I got so far as signing up...This summer has been a dry spell for me and my writing, about cryptos and everything else. This post is a call to action.....not that I have content that anybody would necessarily pay for....but I LIKE the Coil model and I hate the sh!t out of Google at this stage of the game. And I need to start writing again, for my own reasons..like impending old age....lol.
  10. 3 points
    Recently there has been a narrative the past few months that cryptocurrencies or the current digital assets traded on the open market are non-correlated assets to the traditional markets. While this rhetoric has been reiterated, there has not been any substantial evidence backing these claims. General retail investors would stereotypically agree that the crypto market behaves in a chaotic manner. Untethered from any external influences and simply driven by its gradual adoption as a means of transacting business without third parties or as a haven. But given historical macro movements, it appears that there has been a correlation to equity markets. Intermarket relationships typically become exaggerated during the months of large macro movements in the markets. Allowing relationships between assets to be easily observable. While the crypto market is relatively “young”, there are several instances within the past few years that have met these conditions. The infamous bull run of Q4 2017 and the September movements of 2018 were two distinct periods where the intermarket relationship between the cryptocurrency market and equities appear. For the sake of discussion, my observations will be primarily focused on XRP. Both BTC and ETH will be sparingly mentioned as most digital assets moved in tandem during these periods. December 2017 During the period in which both BTC and ETH rallied into Q4 2017, alt-coins were experiencing both drastic and exponential bursts of appreciation and corrections. These price movements were often random and unsupported by any announcements or developments in their blockchain networks. And while retail investors in the crypto market were perplexed by these movements, managers and investors outside of the space realized a bubble was forming. XRP’s sudden ascent into single digit dollars late December spurred rumors of elaborate projects going “live” on the XRP ledger or that massive funds had begun to invest into the digital asset. Yet understanding the financial and economic environment during this period provides valuable context to XRP’s movement. At the time, the US domestic economy (along with other major economies in world) began to enter the late-cycle economic phase. Throughout 2017, global markets were experiencing a bull market that was reflected in equities. Bull markets tend to create feedbacks in which investors continue to reinvest or utilize more capital as assets rise in value and new market participants enter. As lenders and speculators gain money fast, speculators equity grows giving them more collateral to secure new loans to reinvest which reinforces the bubble. As speculators continued to make more money, they began to reinvest in even riskier assets. The crypto market at the current time was a completely new and unregulated market to retail investors, making it extremely speculative. As investors from the traditional markets continued to earn capital, they began to seek other avenues to make more money. Eventually more and more investors found themselves entering into the crypto market after either hearing or seeing how participants were doubling or tripling their money effortlessly and quickly. During a bull market, investor psychology begins to change due to the influx of money being made. This eventually causes a shift in investor mindset where the appreciating assets they own are sacred to them and that anyone without them are missing an opportunity. Which exactly matched the general sentiment around the crypto market in Q4 of 2017. Essentially the performance of global equities created a spillover of capital that reached digital assets. Looking at the historical charts during this period and overlapping them, one can visually see this movement. Equities and the total market capitalization of the cryptocurrency market reached all-time highs within a month of each other. Along with reaching all-time highs in unison, markets began to roughly correct simultaneously with crypto being the first to do so. This was easily explained as cryptocurrencies are extremely speculative in comparison to the equity markets and thus carry the most risk. As markets began to reach their tops, riskier assets began to sell off first which was then followed by other, more traditional financial assets. In order to find how strong of a correlation between US equities and XRP during this period was, one would have to calculate and compare their respective performance. There are several methods of calculating relationships between assets, but my methodology will be focused on calculating the Pearson and Spearman coefficient. Both calculating the Pearson and Spearman coefficient will measure the extent of how linear the relationship between both assets are. Both coefficients are always valued between -1 and 1. A positive coefficient implies a positive correlation while a negative coefficient suggests the relationship being inversely related. Along with that, a coefficient around 0 indicates the relationship between both assets is extremely weak. Spearman's correlation determines the strength and direction of the monotonic relationship between the assets rather than the strength and direction of the linear relationship. “A monotonic relationship is a relationship that does one of the following: as the value of one variable increases, so does the value of the other variable. Or as the value of one variable increases, the other variable value decreases.” (1) The following calculated coefficients used both the SPX and XRP daily closing price (excluding the weekends) from January 03, 2017 to May 10, 2018. Ending at May due to visually seeing a divergence begin between both assets. A total of 341 observed daily closing prices for both SPX and XRP were observed. The Pearson coefficient between the assets was calculated to be 0.783669 while the Spearman coefficient is 0.861674. Both coefficients calculated suggest a moderate to strong correlation between the S&P and XRP during this period. Confirming the assumed correlation derived from visually interpreting the overlapped historical charts. Final Thoughts: • Due to the crypto market being illiquid and having shallow order books compared to equity markets, cryptocurrencies experienced exaggerated movements compared equities. • The May divergence can be attributed to many factors such as governments clamping down on exchanges/cryptocurrencies while warning retail investors that crypto was an unregulated space and penalties could be handed for illicit activity. Another possibility could be that capital began to flee in the wake of a bear market beginning in cryptos and along in global markets. September 2018 Although a divergence followed the market corrections of early 2018 between equities and cryptocurrencies, the correlation would reemerge later in the year. While digital assets further depreciated from a correction into a bear market, equities rallied the following months from May. Global equities rose to month-long highs in October with US equities reaching their previous record highs at the same time. Crypto at the time was finally stabilizing itself from the previous correction in January and began to consolidate. But without any developments or announcements, XRP saw its value rise significantly in September 2018. In respect to the other digital assets, XRP was the only major digital asset to experience such drastic change within a couple of days. The extreme movement once again spawned several rumors of entities utilizing the XRP ledger for operations. But US and global equities during these months provides an insightful context to the digital asset’s movement. For example, US equities once again topped in October and began to enter a period of correction with XRP reacting and following the market. To further support the argument of the equities’ influence on crypto, XRP mirrored the stock movement of SBI Holdings. SBI is a major share holder of Ripple and promoter of Ripple’s technology in the Japan. Forming the Japanese banking consortium intended to use xCurrent for domestic rails and SBI Ripple Asia, a subsidiary meant to drive adoption of xCurrent and xRapid in the Asian Pacific region. Explaining the inexplicable tandem in movement between XRP and SBI’s stock. Calculating the Pearson and Spearman’s coefficient describing XRP’s relationship between the SPX and SBHGF(SBI stock symbol) provides support. Observed daily closing prices of SBHGF, SPX, and XRP from September 17 to December 14 was used in the calculations. The intermarket relationship of XRP and the S&P displayed a Pearson coefficient of 0.509245 along with a Spearman coefficient of 0.600470. Suggesting a moderate positive correlation between assets. In respect to XRP’s relationship with SBHGF, the Pearson coefficient during this period was 0.712559 with a Spearman coefficient of 0.706631. A strong, positively correlated relationship between the assets. In comparison to the correlation’s strength in 2017, the S&P and XRP’s relationship weakened but XRP’s tracking of SBI’s stock reinforced the notion that crypto was still being affected by equities. But regardless of the amount of market participants, capital, or volumes traded, money from the traditional markets entered and withdrew themselves for the second time. Final Thoughts: • An explanation on why the calculated Pearson coefficient weakened the second time around could be that the sample size of the data taken is much smaller in comparison to the original calculation. The crypto market was also a lot more regulated than what it used to be. Possibly dissuading previous participants from the traditional markets on entering again. • There appears to be a pattern in which whenever equities reach a localized high, the crypto market potentially receives an influx of capital from the traditional markets that causes a rise in valuations. Present Day Understanding and observing ONE of the main historical influences on cryptocurrencies can help us interpret the movement’s of today. The economic and financial environment also provides valuable context in interpreting current movements. Back in 2017, cryptocurrencies were the new fad where money was to be made. Currently there is a similar movement going on in the traditional markets that involve IPOs. Displaying a similar bullish or even FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) sentiment crypto witnessed by the general market. These past few months have also seen very familiar movements in the markets. In the month of July, there was a broad rally across on all different types of assets. Whether it was the more commonly traded stocks or the defensive assets such as bonds, much of the market rose synchronized. Even speculative assets such as crypto, which are last to receive capital due to their risk, witnessed a rise in prices. Both BTC and ETH broke out of their downward month-long trends to post new relative highs. With XRP seeing movement as well but not to the degree of the other digital assets. And as equities began to top out again, corrections throughout the markets began to ensue. Currently it appears that what traders witnessed last October and even further back, January 2017, in the markets has occurred again. The third time in which cryptocurrencies and equities have topped and corrected in tandem. Yet past performance is not indicative of future performance or movements. And while I personally believe that this relationship will change in the future, observing and considering historical trends helps us put the cryptocurrency market’s recent movements into perspective. Time will tell.
  11. 3 points
    karlos

    Charting the course of XRP

    It's not a phishing attack. Basically some guy in Hungary tries to log in to a random users account, but gets the password wrong 5 times. That locks the Hungarian IP address from trying again and sends an email to the user. You can ignore the message, its more of a nuisance. But please ensure you use a strong password and don't re-use a password from any other site.
  12. 2 points
    https://todaysgazette.com/indian-digital-asset-exchange-includes-xrp-bypassing-rbi-restrictions/
  13. 2 points
    I posted this in another thread. Armstrong claims that Coinbase is experiencing a lot institutional demand. 200-400M per week. If I had to guess, they're loading up on BTC.
  14. 2 points
    AlejoMoreno

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    I don't mind explaining. I set it that low because, as a general view, I figured $0.28-0.29 or so would be the bottom. I figured if it gets to far below $0.29 then, as you said, it might drop into oblivion (back to early 2017 price levels). Dropping much lower than it is now, means the market has absolutely no regard for XRP utility and/or the market is just too heavily manipulated to react logically to anything right now. Given all of the development in the XRP ecosystem since early 2017 its disappointing that the price may be heading back to exactly how it was in 2017. In my view if it continues dropping, I might as well pull out and wait until the market responds to utility even if it results in a higher DCA. Or, just buy back in if it continues to drop and I feel like another bottom has been reached to mitigate risk. (Everyone has been calling bottoms since it got to $0.50 from ATH for the first time so I'm sure you can see that logic.) I'm not selling the whole stack, just part of it for now. It's just risk control. The price being at this level just sets off alarms that don't make any sense to me. Overall, this is just disappointing but looking at it logically I can't say I'm surprised.
  15. 2 points
    Hodor

    The Big Deal

    Coil awaits you! https://coil.com/signup https://coil.com
  16. 2 points
    tony71

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    If it hits 6k I’m loading it up. Wouldn’t be looking at XRP though.
  17. 2 points
    Roaring_Twenties

    Trim the fat

    How do you define this? Is it anyone who: 1. Is on XRP Chat 2. Has ever bought XRP 3. Still holds XRP today 4. Believes in the future of XRP 5. Has a day job writing distributed ledger technology legislation and regulations for state and tribal governments 6. Is some exotic mixture of the above
  18. 2 points
    Gilligan

    Trim the fat

    It's probably just me, but I'd rather be considered amongst the above perceived group than to prove myself to be an arrogant p***k.....
  19. 2 points
    There is no chance India will ban Crypto, they say they will but it just wont happen, they have one of the fastest growing economies in the world with a population that makes up over 15% of the world population, there are more people in India with mobile phones than active bank accounts and if they want to continue to grow their economy at the pace they are they need Liquidity Their key note speakers at Swell simply show that Ripple are seeing the potential in the country - look at the Ripple site and the positions they are recruiting for - key positions based in Mumbai..... Anyone who cant see the benefit of the above needs their heads checking
  20. 1 point
    AlejoMoreno

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    Perfect timing. Was just picking up some butter at the store.
  21. 1 point
    dr_ed

    Trim the fat

    Deal! I have a daughter in NYC. I get up there occasionally. And my Greek friend lives in Westport, lol. But my favorite East Coast place is the Outer Banks, where the Wright brothers once played with their machines. And Ft. Lauderdale ain't bad.
  22. 1 point
    Good job. I must say that “Drizzle” is very intuitive, because I thought I just made it up during my last post. I guess it was embedded from your prior suggestions. I tend to only remember what I learn, not always where and when.
  23. 1 point
    Ripple-Stiltskin

    XRP will at $5

    For the record: anyone saying XRP would go down again while it was on the run after december 12, 2017 in hindsight can be considered not only as contrarian but as realistic ( again: in hindsight), but there weren’t many of them ( quotes please!) So who are the contrarians now, at this moment? People who predict more of the same ( 1.5 yrs of tanking/ flat prices) or the ones that say it will be better soon (TM)? We’ll know within 1 or 2 yrs max imo. TLDR : the terms “realistic”, “common sense” and “ voice of reason” give the false impression that predictions made under these flags are more trustworthy. BS.
  24. 1 point
    Ripple-Stiltskin

    XRP will at $5

    Still: reading your actual post from 12/28/17 you give newbies the impression that XRB ( now Nano) would grow even further and you stated that XRP “ won’t give us big dips like before”. If anyone followed this “ implicit advice” then he would be rekt within 2 months. I think you just proved my point. Not that I blame you, but like I said: overoptimistic, realistic, pessimistic, it’s all BS, crypto is unpredictable and any spot on prediction must be considered as “ luck”. A backtested algo with a succesrate of , let’s say, > 65% would be nice. Anyone?
  25. 1 point
    XRPboi

    The Big Deal

    My initial gut reaction is to agree with you on this. But from a business standpoint, it is clear that Wietse is working on projects for P2P/individual use, whereas Coil has the attention and engagement of nearly all of the top technology companies. It isn't hard to imagine a portion of the billion XRP they received being used to incentive media incumbents to implement and be on the forefront of this new technology (and web standard). At least that is my thoughts on this, whether it is right or completely misses the mark.
  26. 1 point
    dr_ed

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    Any TA guy worth his salt will tell you it's much easier to call bottoms than to call tops. The charts I just posted only tell us about today, not about any longer term trend. The best thing I can say is we MIGHT be making a very short term bottom today....but that isn't even confirmed. I do it for fun, yes, but also to teach myself, and learn from the good traders here who mostly lurk and don't post...but when they do, I listen.
  27. 1 point
    invest2lose

    Trim the fat

    so we should take his current "research" with a grain of salt.
  28. 1 point
    dr_ed

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    XRP/BTC looks better, with a break out on the 30 minute chart. Not time to go crazy with excitement, but we could be reversing.
  29. 1 point
    AlejoMoreno

    Charting the course of XRP

    Well then he is going to whoop your ass on the computer and then whoop it again if you find him in person!
  30. 1 point
    https://github.com/ultiledger/utoken/releases/tag/2.0.2 tagged address introduction: https://xrpaddress.info/
  31. 1 point
    rippletotheend

    Trim the fat

    Maybe it's just somebody else pretending to be Sporticus!
  32. 1 point
    King34Maine

    Interstellar?

    Jed McCaleb said in an interview (02:15 - 02:47) a couple months back that Stellar and IBM were still collaborating on World Wire. Also, according to a Coindesk article back in May Jed McCaleb said that the IBM/Stellar partnership was, "full steam ahead with World Wire." I think it just conjecture unless Tim has some inside information that hasn't been made known yet.
  33. 1 point
    Tinyaccount

    Trim the fat

    Oh... fascinating. Because you can foresee the future, could you please tell me whether I should go short or long on Bitcoin next week?
  34. 1 point
    Benchmark

    Be aware.

    To get access to the highly exclusive and top secret Zerpening probably. Nobody may know what is discussed there. Except for the 800+ members.
  35. 1 point
    panmores

    The Big Deal

    It's quite a challenge to monetize with Coil. One needs a huge reader list - or depend on conventional ad monetization. Of course I'd love Coil to succeed. They're currently experimenting with some different payout strategies. When you use Coil for a certain amount in a month the rate of Coil payout will decrease. This helps prevent abuse of the platform by people who idle on their own sites, but sometimes one can reach this threshold by normal usage. The rate will return to 100 millionths of a dollar per second when the subscription renews. As said, this model requires a lot of subscribed readers to see earnings, otherwise you're talking about monthly earnings in the very low dollars. Another option is to use the Coil.com platform for content creation. All content is monetized, whether you're a Coil subscriber or not. Currently experimenting with that.
  36. 1 point
    Sporticus

    Trim the fat

    You are biased for Ripple/XRP and that makes you a fool.
  37. 1 point
    peanut56

    Announcing Swell 2019 Keynote Speakers

    Wouldn't swell be more of a networking event rather than a stunt for price increase in xrp. I don't think it is meant for us.
  38. 1 point
    dr_ed

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    To me this a very solid analysis that could well play out. Not sure how much more pain I want to endure, but reality trumps fantasy. (Other than in MY dream last night, which involved a beautiful woman who was a highly accomplished blue-water sailor and had a cute Euro accent. I'm not making this up, btw. She was trying to teach me something interesting and pithy about celestial navigation, which I never quite got. lol)
  39. 1 point
    dr_ed

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    I'm sure there are people here on the forum who look at the very problem set you're describing. Above my pay grade, but I will try to read about it and report back. Update: There might be a thread somewhere about this subject....it certainly deserves its own thread..here is an article that was written to intentionally debunk the thesis you made......I did not find it persuasive. Still reading. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@kyle.anderson/bitcoin-end-game-a-mathematical-certainty-correcting-bad-bitcoin-journalism Here's another pro-BTC article that explains (not very well) how the Lightning Network will save BTC and the miners will have a new functionality. I don't find it very persuasive either. https://medium.com/coinmonks/bitcoins-future-paradigm-shift-ahead-mining-bitcoin-is-doomed-and-today-a-non-starter-for-31d801e6e90
  40. 1 point
    XRPboi

    Cleared to launch - Bakkt

    I agree that this is great news, but I can't help but hear the words "Trust but verify." While Mr. Armstrong could be very well telling the truth, we have absolutely no way of verifying his claims, and he has every reason to fabricate this kind of information. Oh well.. I sure hope it is true
  41. 1 point
    Tinyaccount

    Trim the fat

    Ripple have customers. Those customers are operating in a very competitive market and have no desire or reason to reveal to their competitors their internal costings. The NDA’s that you hear mentioned are NonDisclosure Agreements requested by the customers. Ripple abides by them because they are straight shooters playing by the rules (and also no doubt to avoid litigation and reputational damage). Ripple would love to release all the details but cannot because of the NDAs. Brad has said as much in the past. So your question is based on the false premise that Ripple does not want to release good news.
  42. 1 point
    Based on previous SWELL Conferences and moreover their ability to increase the value of their beloved asset? No. They don’t.
  43. 1 point
  44. 1 point
    hallwaymonitor

    The Big Deal

    I think you nailed it. On top of content also convenience matters what comes to Netflix or Coil. With Netflix you don't have to bother to walk down to Blockbuster to rent a film. With Netflix you don't have to learn how to get the pirated copies of your desired content (and feel bad about it). You can just sit on your chair and press a button to gain access to the content via Netflix. At least according to their narrative with Coil you don't have to pay multiple paywalls to gain access to the content. You don't have to learn how to implement some kind of workaround for those particular paywalls. You don't have to install ad blocker. You don't have to see those annoying pop-ups saying "please disable your ad block to continue" anymore. Most people like convenient and easy solutions and hence they are ready to pay for it. Monthly subscription model works and has been battle tested already properly.
  45. 1 point
    It's called international trade. People buy raw materials or other and make stuff, then they sell it. In this example, a S.American firm imports goods from the USA (paying in dollars), sells final product in local market (for pesos/mxn/other), then they have lots of local currency and bills to pay in the USA. They can use Santander's new service to trade their local currency for dollars. Then the process repeats. They constantly get new local currency because they run a business that operates continuously. They don't sell stuff once, then just stop. They do it day after day after day and currently they have to use the forex markets and interbank exchanges to convert their local currency back to dollars to pay the bills for their imports. What Santander are doing is effectively bypassing the (traditional) forex market by allowing a market maker / forex trader to rebalance the xRapid Corridor that is being used for remittance and is one sided (all the money is coming from USA to S.America). In my previous post I said that the business would buy and trade xrp directly, but actually, I didn't read properly the santander press release and it is really the market makers opening up a corridor to allow traders to exchange currency using the corridor that they are doing the rebalancing on. So I can buy XRP for peso and sell it for dollars, then offer a dollar/peso exchange to all the traders in S.America with bills to pay in US dollars. The answer to your question 'Where does this “someone” get more pesos?' - is simple, from all the traders in S.America who need to pay bills in US dollars and can get a better price from this new Sandander service compared to their usual bank exchange rate. At some point, people will start to realize what is going on here (and I hope I can convince one stubborn valhalla_guy that this is a good thing). The financial plumbing of cross border transactions is being reimplemented with an ILP enabled system that enables xRapid corridors to compete with traditional forex on the backend (using the returning money flow). If and when this traffic picks up and spreads to more corridors then we will see a significant shift in the way things are done. The only question that needs to be answered is ... Can an ILP/xRapid corridor undercut the spreads offered by traditional forex markets? If the answer to this is yes, then it is inevitable that xRapid will gradually take over and dominate the markets, if it is no, then it is inevitable that it will fail. The answer is not clearcut to me because the traditional forex traders will all jump on the ILP bandwagon and put their bid/ask offers up for grabs. I'm betting on "yes" in the long term though, and clearly ripple and friends are too.
  46. 1 point
    BiffTannen

    Cleared to launch - Bakkt

    I can’t believe bakt is still being talked about in a positive light. I’d be SHOCKED if it resulted in anything other than a negative impact on the price. Just another CNY, Wall Street bonus, coinbase, and every other event. For gods sake MG resulted in a whopping 5% that reversed a day later. XRP community is becoming a desperate circle jerk cult in constant confirmation bias. I want XRP to succeed as much as anybody but Jesus Christ wake up. Nothing that has been circle jerked on in the last TWO YEARS has helped the price. XRP will rise when the rest of the Alts rise. That’s IT for the time being and the near future at least.
  47. 1 point
    baobeiiiii

    Charting the course of XRP

    I guess they are targeting accounts that are established/positive to turn into random FUDsters.
  48. 1 point
    Dario_o

    Trim the fat

    price manipulation using Twitter? LOL it's just marketing. you are dumb if you can't see where the real price manipulation is happening.
  49. 1 point
    tony71

    Epic Pennant on BTC Chart

    I wouldn’t be surprised if it reaches .25
  50. 0 points
    baobeiiiii

    Charting the course of XRP

    ^ Am I being targeted or is this normal...
×
×
  • Create New...